Daily Archives: January 31, 2009

I don’t know how they do it.

Many legal blogs post at really odd hours, like 4:30 a.m. or now, 1:46 a.m.  I don’t know how these legal powerhouses are able to be cogent, intelligent, and inciteful at such odd hours.  Usually I’m just thinking about beer or my wife.  Or I’m asleep.

Indeed, I do love the law, and I do love my clients (when I have them) but, excepting the possibility that I misssed a filing deadline, or that my brief will be incomplete, very little keeps me awake at night, especially on weekends.  Legal bloggers, how do you continue throughout the weekend?  What drives you? Do you get random thoughts that you have to share with the world? Or does your mind so constantly focus on the law that nothing can distract you?

3 Comments

Filed under Housekeeping

“Dear Justice Scalia, please let us ban lap dances…”

Because local officials in Idaho know more about the First Amendment than the Supreme Court:

Officials in this small eastern Idaho town have written to the U.S. Supreme Court, asking justices to reconsider rulings town leaders say harm the nation’s moral health.

In particular, the letter sent Thursday by officials in the town of 1,500 cites a 1981 case in which justices ruled the First Amendment prevents towns from banning adult-oriented entertainment businesses.

“We disagree,” city leaders wrote. “One study of the First Amendment and of the ideology that created it convinces us that the Framers merely intended to protect political and religious speech.”

The letter is signed by Mayor Glenn Dalling, City Council President Harold Harris, and Planning and Zoning Commission Chairman Brian Hawkes.

I must say, I’ve never heard of a letter writing campaign to the Supreme Court before.   Good for the public officials of Sugar City, Ohio, I guess. Something tells me, though, that more people in their down like boobie-bars than they may expect.

Leave a comment

Filed under First Amendment, Law