I don’t know how they do it.

Many legal blogs post at really odd hours, like 4:30 a.m. or now, 1:46 a.m.  I don’t know how these legal powerhouses are able to be cogent, intelligent, and inciteful at such odd hours.  Usually I’m just thinking about beer or my wife.  Or I’m asleep.

Indeed, I do love the law, and I do love my clients (when I have them) but, excepting the possibility that I misssed a filing deadline, or that my brief will be incomplete, very little keeps me awake at night, especially on weekends.  Legal bloggers, how do you continue throughout the weekend?  What drives you? Do you get random thoughts that you have to share with the world? Or does your mind so constantly focus on the law that nothing can distract you?

3 Comments

Filed under Housekeeping

3 responses to “I don’t know how they do it.

  1. Hi! I like your blog. Welcome to the club! You ask a good question. I for one do post at odd hours, frequently.

    I often only get the opportunity to blog at odd hours. My life is, thank God, very full. Sometimes I may not be able to sit down in front of the computer and catch up on checking, say, my Google alerts for blog topics until the wee hours. If in the process of scanning them I see something I can find “an angle” on, I usually jump on it then and there, because otherwise I may either lose the chance at a “scoop” or forget about it or whatever.

    I am driven. I recently noted on my other blog that, in reviewing the blogroll at LOC, I cut out about 20-25% of the blogs I was linking to, the vast majority of which just hadn’t posted for months or longer. It’s hard to keep it up.

    One thing that drives me is that I have now kept it up, averaging a post a day, for a month, and it has resulted in a nice little niche for myself, such that when a bright talented fellow such as your own bad self starts working his angle, LOC is frequently one of the blogs that goes right onto the blogroll. Well once you’ve got some sort of equity, maintaining it and building on it becomes its own motivation!

    I also have a head full of ideas that are driving me insane.

  2. Kyle Kaiser

    Well said, Ron. I find that blogging is beginning to feed my head with more ideas which, all in all, is probably a good thing.

  3. “for a month” s/b “for four years” (!!!)

Leave a Reply

